http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505125_162-57433387/is-there-a-gap-growing-in-your-resume/?tag=nl.e713

I’m getting more emails from people who’ve been out of work quite a long time. Not surprisingly, they’re very dispirited but what makes it worse is that they are worrying about how to cover the gap that is growing in their resume. Being out of work is debilitating because your morale plummets, your confidence starts to hemorrhage and your passion for network decidedly dwindles. What should you do?

 

I confronted this problem many years ago when I sold my business, moved continents and had my first child – all at pretty much the same time. (I would not recommend this to anyone.) So I found myself in a new city where I knew no one – so no networking. The industry I knew well – television – wasn’t a going concern in my new home. My confidence was rock bottom – having a baby at home will do that to you. What was I to do?

